Which US Presidents have been impeached? | World | News

Which US Presidents have been impeached?

Andrew Johnson, the US’s 17th president, was impeached by the House in March 1868 for “high crimes and misdemeanours” after he was accused of violating the Tenure of Office Act.

The Act, later deemed invalid by the Supreme Court, restricted the power of the president to remove certain office-holders without the approval of the Senate.

Mr Johnson was deemed in violation by trying to remove the US Secretary of War, Edwin Stanton, without receiving official approval from the Senate.

He was the first president to be impeached on March 2, 1868, when the House formally adopted the articles of impeachment and forwarded them to the Senate.